October 11 is National Coming Out Day.

As we celebrate the power and value of being exactly who we are, we’re reminded of just how far equality has come in our state.

Oregon boasts nine out LGBTQ Equality PAC candidates on the 2016 ballot, all of whom have been endorsed by our Equality PAC.  

  • Kate Brown, Governor 
  • Greg Delgado, Senate District 27
  • Tina Kotek, House Speaker
  • Rob Nosse, House District 42 
  • Paul Southwick, House District 37
  • Karin Power, House District 41
  • Eric Zimmerman, Multnomah County Commission, Position 1
  • Jon Gustafson, Lake Oswego Mayor
  • Chloe Eudaly, Portland City Commission, Position 4

Each of these candidates contributes positively to our state’s pro-equality climate.

Kate Brown has been a champion for LGBTQ equality ever since she was Senate Majority Leader, helping to pass the Oregon Equality Act and signing the Youth Mental Health Protection Act into law as governor.

Tina Kotek is the first out Speaker of the House of any legislature in the United States, and similarly helped to pass the Equality Act back in 2007. She has been a staunch supporter of Basic Rights Oregon and of equality for all LGBTQ Oregonians since she entered the legislature in 2006.

We selected these candidates because of their commitment to the equality-minded values that make our state one of the best for LGBTQ folks to live, work and play. 

We need to hold our pro-equality majority so that Oregon continues to be the progressive leader it is. Let’s make sure equality keeps winning and send these candidates to victory on November 8.

The Basic Rights Oregon Equality PAC seeks to end discrimination based on sexual orientation and gender identity in Oregon by electing pro-equality candidates to all levels of office. We are non-partisan and focused on statewide and legislative offices. Our volunteer PAC board members interview candidates and issue endorsements to elected leaders and hopefuls who are dedicated champions for equality, racial and transgender justice.